Your Very First Pole Dance Class

22 Nov

The First Step Is The Most Important: Your Very First Pole Dance Class

In my two years of teaching pole dancing, here are the TOP 7 questions I have encountered from people thinking of trying out a class:

1. I’m fat, can I pole?

Pole dancing is for everyone who’s reasonably healthy. We don’t judge students according to body size. As long as your doctor gives you clearance to start exercising—let’s go! But wait if you’re over 220lbs maybe the pole isn’t strong enough to hold you safely.

2. I’m too old, can I pole?

What is too old anyway? I had a yoga classmate who was 60 and wore bras to class and could kick my ass and could do more push ups. Again, as long as your doctor says go, then let’s! Also, I started pole dancing when I was 31. Age is just a number!

3. I can’t dance, can I pole?

Just dance to the inner rhythm of your heart. HAHA. But seriously, that’s what classes are for, for learning. If you could do everything already, then what is learning for?

4. I’m shy, can I wear a t-shirt and leggings to class?

Everyone’s shy at the start. Shirt is fine, leggings are a no-no—you’ll need friction from your legs to grip the pole. But you know, it helps if you look nice while you work out. You’ll be looking at yourself in the mirror the whole class! Would you rather see a girl in a ratty t, or a girl in lipstick rocking her sports tank?

5. I’m scared of looking stupid, can I just watch a class?

We all look stupid while learning new things. And if things could be learned by just watching, then all those couch potatoes would be geniuses by now.

6. Ay, I don’t like bruises. And I love lotion too much.

I can’t dictate your priorities in life.

7.Kaya ko ba yan? (Can I do it?)

You’ll never know until you try, yeah?

6 Responses to “Your Very First Pole Dance Class”

  1. Maui August 22, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    I wanted to try this for the longest time and doesn’t have the courage to act on it…but now I will !

  2. fashionbreaker June 2, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    “We all look stupid while learning new things.” This is so true! I want, oh wait, I need (stressed that) to join your class!Do you have a branch in Iloilo, PH? That way it wont be hard for me to fly to Manila during the class.

    Hope to hear from you soon. Thanks!

    • polecatsmanila June 27, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

      Hi! Unfortunately we don’t have classes in Iloilo just yet, but hopefully you can visit us soon!:)

  3. Leanne June 9, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    hi. merun po ba kayung free trial class before po ako mag endrol?and how much po?im so interestad.

  4. Olivia December 20, 2014 at 4:44 pm #

    Hi Polecats,

    I am dying to take pole classes, and I just want to do it like tomorrow (LOL).
    I am just curious though, do you.. by any chance have any deals/vouchers online that we can take advantage of? Saw some details on your website about the walk-in rate and it is practical and just enough I would say, but I’m looking forward to attend more sessions, so vouchers and other deals might help me save a little perhaps.

    Hope you can help 🙂
    Thanks,

    Olivia

Leave a Reply

