The Importance of Taking Care of our Bodies

9 Feb

I used to groan about my yoga classes, which, at 4000php a month, I thought was quite expensive. I loved yoga though. And I would go everyday, diligently.

After going for 6 months, I said, wait, I’ve spent so much already. But then I realized I was stronger, happier, calmer, more flexible. These were things that I couldn’t buy from the store, no matter how much I spent.

Around this time I was also talking to my classmate whose husband had just died. She told me, “You know, if you spend 4000 a month on yoga, that’s only 48,000 a year. On the other hand, we spent 50,000php a day for my husband’s hospital bills. He was in the hospital for 10 days. What’s 48,000php for a healthy body?”

So next time you get your paycheck– I think part of it should go to a health program. Sign up for circuit training at 360, do yoga, take a dance class. Get yourself a pair of proper running shoes. Or maybe just buy more fruits for your fridge. You wanna buy a dress? Well, don’t you think any dress will look and feel more awesome on a healthy body?

No extra income? No problem. Take a walk. Use the stairs. Skip that happy meal.

Let’s all remember– this body we have is the only one we’ve got. Let’s make sure we treat it well.

27245_115280265165825_100000515553259_215784_30958_n

photo by Daemon Becker

Leave a Reply

