You Are Stellar!

7 Jun

Mara Andres is the Project Head of Stellar Year 2, Striptease teacher and founding member of Polecats Manila. Here’s how Stellar happened from her point of view 🙂

Days after the recital and everyone is still on a Stellar high. All of the photos and videos from last Saturday’s show are flooding Facebook timelines! I guess that just goes to show how successful our event was.

When our beloved PA, Raf Camus, checked how many people came to watch the show, guess what? Around 700 people were there that night. 700 people witnessed you pour your hearts out onstage. 700 people saw how strong you could all be and how talented you all are. 700 lives changed because of each and every single one of you — including mine.

I started conceptualizing as early as January, and I realized that I wanted to do a rock show. It fit the personalities of our students, because not only is rock so great to dance to, it also represents individuality and passion. There’s a rockstar in all of you and it was about time to unleash it.

And so, Stellar Year 2 was born.

April came quickly and that was when everything began to really pick up. All the classes were rehearsing their respective numbers and excitement was building up. We had to extend the deadline of Stellar signups because so many people wanted to be part of it, and we didn’t want to exclude anyone. Stellar, after all, is about YOU. It’s your show. We’re only here to set up the stage.

As rehearsals went on, it amazed me how you would get stronger every week. I was surprised when I learned that a lot of you would rehearse as early as 7 AM or as late as 11 PM. That showed passion and dedication and I admire you all because of that.

With each rehearsal you became better performers, and seeing you up on that stage blowing everyone’s minds away made everything worth it. All the bruises, sweat, tears and sleepless nights were all darn worth it because you made it so.

Photo from Ann Santos-Dajon

I apologize if I seemed a little distant during the show because I kept on running all over the place. I actually wish that I had gotten to talk to more of you during the summer. If I seemed a little strict (especially to my striptease students), it’s only because I want the best for you (wow, do I sound like a mother). All of your teachers want the best for you.

When I got home after the show, I was so overwhelmed that I burst into tears. We all worked so hard and sacrificed so much for this one night. We are so proud of each and every one of you.

Without you, this show would not have been a success. Without you, there would be no Stellar.


To the production team and our beloved sponsors, thank you for helping us make our dreams come true.

To everyone who came and supported us, we hope that you enjoyed the show.

To the Police, our biggest fans (you better be), we love you in a cheesy, mushy kind of way.


To the rest of the Polecats, thank you for giving me this opportunity.


Photo from Ann Santos-Dajon
To our students, thank you for being the stellar men and women that you are.

Thank you for helping us change the lives of so many people.
Thank you for changing mine.

Love,
Mara

Leave a Reply

